分类目录归档:New Year

请与你的家人一起参加羊年庆祝会!

Sunday, March 15, 2:30pm
@ PS 1, Chinatown / 8 Henry St.
New York, NY 10038

Card-Content

Yr-of-Sheep-Card-front

亲爱的会员和朋友

恭贺農曆新年快樂!我們期待在2015年继续勇往直前,開拓新局面。

的社
  多年來,我們譴責種族歧視的「東村土改計劃」,並爭取西裔社团参加「華埠工作小組」(CWG);我們最近在反对開發商豪华发展贏了一役: 在2015年1月5日,「華埠工作小組」採納了「以民为先」土改计划的重要原則。該計劃包括在政府的公共土地上建設100% 的低收入住房,东河區的发展(包括大受爭議的前Pathmark)要限制高度,要求私人地盖房提供55% 的低收入住房。更因州議會議長蕭華被捕而感到鼓舞。华裔工人带领社区争取變革,與其他社區一齊告訴市長白思豪,我們的社區是不賣的。

强力
           2014年,我们支持酒樓員工,在福州人社區中心的酒樓门前设立示威纠察线,发起反对盜竊工資的運動。后来更联同数百个其他社区的工人,在紐約州勞工局門前进行每个月一次的抗議,要求葛谟州长执行劳工法和提高小費工人的最低工資。这个行动成功地迫使葛谟州政府设立工资委员会并通过了决议,给小费工人从每小时5元增加到7元半。我们还让大众知道欠薪已成风,如果没有新的法例,工资法不可能切实执行。现时州劳工局有一万七千个案未解决,这是文明社会不能容忍的。

 再次争取40小工作的权利

华人女工们取得了巨大的進步,将爭取工人權益和妇女权益的焦點集中在「時間」。我們串连了阿肯色州和新泽西州Pactiv胶盒廠的工人,她們因組織起來反對12小時工作并強制加班而被老闆打擊報復。在今年3月8日國際劳动婦女節,開展全國抵制Costco運動,要求Costco停止出售Pactiv和Reynolds公司 (胶盒廠的总公司)的血汗產品。今年五月,紀念美国工人要求每周40個小時工作权利的150週年,「婦女也是人」運動將聯同全國的學生、宗教團體和工人組織,爭取掌控制自己時間的權利。

 我希望您和家人、朋友3月15日(星期天)的羊年祝活

请会员缴纳2015年会员费。欢迎朋友们参加职工会,和继续捐款支持职工会,壮大工人力量。

*** 如果你的联络地址和个人情况有改变,请通知职工会(212-334-2333)

职工会地址:C.S.W.A   345 Grand St # 1W New York NY 10002

华人职工会 理事会敬启

2015 年 2 月 19 日

Category Archives: New Year

Celebrate the Lunar New Year with CSWA!

Chinese Staff & Workers’ Association
Invites you to a Lunar New Year Celebration

Please join us for a day of festivities with family and friends as we bring in the Year of the Rooster with exhilarating musical performances, an amazing lion dance, a lunch buffet and raffle prizes!

Sunday 2:30pm
February 26, 2017
PS 124 (40 Division Street in Chinatown, Manhattan)

For more information or to RSVP: 212-334-2333

Celebrate the Lunar New Year With Us!

CSWA’s Lunar New Year Celebration

Sunday, March 6, 2016
2:30pm-5pm
P.S.124 – Yung Wing School
(40 Division St in Chinatown, Manhattan)
CSWA New Year Party Photo

Lion Dance Performers at CSWA’s 2015 Lunar New Year Celebration

As Fearlessly as the Monkey King Defeating All Demons
Chinese Workers Gain Justice Through Struggle

Join us for a day of festivities with family and friends as we bring in the Year of the Monkey  with performances, a lion dance, lunch buffet, and raffle prizes.

Celebrate the victories and achievements of 2015 and look forward with us to uniting our community against racism and exploitation.

RSVP to cswa@cswa.org or call 212-334-2333

Celebrate the New Year with CSWA!

 Please RSVP for our annual Lunar New Year Celebration and help us usher in the Year of the Ram!

Sunday, March 15, 2:30pm
@ PS 1, Chinatown / 8 Henry St.
New York, NY 10038

Card-Content

Yr-of-Sheep-Card-front

Happy Lunar New Year! We are charging forward in 2015, breaking new ground:

Taking Back our Community

After years of condemning the racist East Village Rezoning Plan and fighting to include Latino organizations into Chinatown Working Group (CWG), we recently won a battle against developers. On January 5, 2015, CWG adopted important principles of the People’s First Plan. The plan includes 100% low-income housing on NYCHA public land and placing height limits and 55% low-income housing on private land in waterfront area, which encompasses the hotly-contested former Pathmark lot. Armed with this victory, and encouraged by the recent arrest of Assemblymember Sheldon Silver, Chinese workers are leading the fight for change and coming together with communities across the city to tell Mayor DeBlasio that our communities are not for sale.

Fearless in the Fight to End Wage Theft

In 2014, we supported East Market Restaurant workers to launch a picket line in front of the restaurant, in the heart of the Fuzhounese community, to kick off the campaign against the wage theft. Later, joined with hundreds of workers from other communities we held demonstrations monthly in front of NYS Department of Labor (DOL) to demand Governor Cuomo enforce the labor law and increase the minimum for tip-workers. The action successfully forced the Cuomo administration to convene the Wage Board to increase wages from roughly $5 to $7.50 for ALL tipped workers. Furthermore, we brought to light the need for better enforcement as well as new legislation to make enforcement possible. Currently, the DOL has a 17,000 case back-log, which is unacceptable.

Taking Back the 40-hour Workweek

Chinese women workers have made huge strides, putting time at the forefront of the debate in workers’ struggles and women’s struggles. We connected with workers in Pactiv’s Arkansas factory who are facing retaliation for organizing against 12-hour mandatory overtime shifts. On March 8, International Women’s Day, we are launching a national boycott of Costco, urging the company to stop buying Pactiv and Reynolds sweatshop products. This May, in commemoration of the 150th anniversary of the demand for a 40-hour workweek, the Ain’t I A Woman?! Campaign will join students, faith groups and workers’ organizations across the country who are teaming up to take back control of our time.

We invite you to join us in fighting these struggles during this year of the Ram which symbolizes determination and steadfast bravery in the face of difficult opposition. We also hope you will join us at the celebration on March 15th to welcome in the Year of the Ram!